href=””>SONY DSC
School of Management Sciences (SMS), Varanasi on Sunday, 19th October, 2014 organised an Online aptitude test named SMS Mental Ability Recognition Test (SMART) for the intermediate students to identify the potential talent existing in the city, with an intention to hone their skills depending on the aptitude of the candidate. 500 students from 22 schools of Varanasi and adjacent areas of Purvanchal participated in the event. The prominent schools included St. John’s School (DLW, Madauli and Ledhupur), DAV Public School, DPS Kashi, DLW Intercollege, Glenhill Public School, Little Flower House, CHS (Boys and Girls), Aditya Birla Public School, Renukoot etc. to name a few.
The Director of SMS, Varanasi, Prof. P. N. Jha in his inaugural address welcomed and exhorted the participants and said that youth are the future leadership of the nationand they should appear in competitive examinations organised by different forums to improve their competitive efficiency. The improved efficiency will help them to improve their skills and competencies required to excel professional and fulfill their social responsibility towards nation. Further more, he added that he would propose to the Management of SMS to accommodate the participants of SMART-2014 in the various scholarships currently being offered by the institute to the meritorious candidates.
Later, the awards (which included cash prizes, trophies and certificates) were distributed by him in the Valedictory Session. The first prize of Rs. 15,000/- was won by Mr. Kaustubh Garg of Guru Nanak English School, Shivpur, Varanasi while the second and third prizes of Rs. 10,000/- and 5,000/- were won by Mayank Vishwakarma and Saurabh Sarkhel of Central Hndu Boys School, Kamachha, Varanasi and St. John’s School, Marhauli, Varanasi respectively . There were seven consolation prizes of Rs. 2,500/- each were given to Himanshu Kumar, Arvind Kumar, Kartik Kumar Pandey, Akshay Gupta (All CHS Boys School), Kumar Shantanu (St. John’s School Ledhupur), Nikhil Maurya (Happy Home Engiish School) and Dharmesh Kumar (D.L.W. Inter College, Varanasi).
Present on the occasion were the Executive Secretary, Dr. M. P. Singh, Registrar Shri Sanjay Gupta and members from the faculty and staff. The event was conducted and coordinated by Mr. Rohit Mehta and Mr. Avinash C Supkar (both Assistant Professors, SMS). The Vote of thanks was proposed by Shri Sanjay Gupta, Registrar of the Institute.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: